The global office: We’ve all tried remote, so how can startups make it work? image

Startup Life

The global office: We’ve all tried remote, so how can startups make it work?

Wed 17 Aug 2022 / 12:30 - 13:30 (BST), 13:30 - 14:30 (CEST)

About the event

Many startups moved to remote working as a necessity during the pandemic — but now that employees have had a taste of flexibility, they want more. Building a remote and digital nomad-friendly business is no easy feat, but it can give startups a competitive edge in a tight talent market and help set up the infrastructure to launch as a global-first business. So how do you get it right? This Sifted Talks will dive into the building blocks of a truly global office.

Date & Venue

Wed 17 Aug 2022 / 12:30 (BST), 13:30 (CEST)

Virtual (Zoom call)

We'll be discussing

  1. Overcoming office FOMO: How should startups onboard their first global hire? What measures can HR implement to avoid an us vs them dynamic between office and remote workers?
  2. Levelling the playing field: What does progression look like for remote workers? How can startups ensure they’re compensating global talent fairly?
  3. The digital nomad dream: What’s it really like to employ a digital nomad? How can founders ensure location flexibility doesn’t stunt productivity?

Moderators & Speakers

Miriam Partington
Miriam Partington

DACH correspondent @ Sifted

Gonçalo Hall
Gonçalo Hall

CEO @ NomadX

Vera Lakmaker
Vera Lakmaker

Remote work champion @ Unlock

Matthew Wilson
Matthew Wilson

Cofounder and co-CEO @ Omnipresent

Jessica Zwaan
Jessica Zwaan

COO @ Whereby